The TSC salaries scale and grading system for teachers 2021

Over the past years, teachers have been spending a lot of time on the roads protesting for better pay from the government. Fortunately for them the Kenyan National Union of Teachers (KNUT) successfully fought and won the battle regarding their salary incrementation. The Salaries and Remuneration Commission agreed to increase the salaries in three different phases.


Finally, ‘the solidarity forever for the union make us strong’ slogan will be brought to an end through the implementation of the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) by the Salaries and Remuneration Commission.

TSC New  grading system

The current TSC upgrading of teachers led to the scrapping off of some job groups and merging of others. Under the new system of grading, the grade that was previously known as P1, which was under job Group G, was scrapped off and replaced with Grade B5; a grade desgnated as the new entry grade for all teachers at the primary school level.           The other grades that followed were     re-structured and re-named as follows :

  • J to C1
  • K to C2
  • L to C3
  • M to C4
  • N to C5

Apart from job groups J to N, there was another rank that belonged to the higher band which was designated as P, Q and R. These were renamed to:

  • P to C1
  • Q to D2
  • R to D3

The Kenyan National Union of Teachers requested an additional job groups S and T which the commission granted. Under the new grading system, the two categories were named as D4 and D5 respectively. The chief principals now fall under category D5 of the new grading system.


TSC desgination code for teachers

The new grading system introduced after the Salaries and Remuneration Commission undertook the job evaluation exercise has offered new job groups for teachers; below are the designation codes for each category.

  • Grade B5( T- scale 5) Primary Educator||
  • Grade C1 ( T- scale 6)- Primary Teacher |, secondary teacher || and lecturer |||
  • Grade C2(T-scale 7)-  secondary educator ||, senior educator ||, Lecturer || and special Need Education educator ( for primary schools)
  • Grade C3(T-scale 8)-secondary educator |, Special need education teacher | (for primary schools) Lecturer |, Senior teacher | and special need education educator || (for secondary schools)
  • Grade C4 (T-scale 9)- senior master |V, special need education senior Teacher (for primary school), senior lecturer |V, deputy head educator || and special need education teacher |! for secondary schools)
  • Grade C5( T-scale 10)- senior Master |||, Deputy principal |V, senior lecturer |||, deputy head teacher, head educator and curriculum support officer ||.
  • Grade D1(T-scale11) – deputy principal |||, senior master ||, senior lecturer ||, curriculum support officer | and senior head educator.
  • Grade D2(T-scale 12)-senior master | and deputy principal ||
  • Grade D3(T-scale 13)-deputy Principal | and principals.
  • Grade D4(T-scale 14)- senior principals
  • Grade D5(T-scale 15)- chief Principals.

TSC new salary scale

According to the TSC salaries circular released, the Teachers Service Commission will enumerate the pay rise of different teachers according to their job groups for both the primary and the secondary levels. The Kenyan teachers’ new salary scale will be affected on the job groups ranging from H, J, K, L, M and N.

Other than elongating the TSC salary scale for trainers in the teachers scale 13, 12 and 9 the commission has also revised some of the allowances such as commuter, hardship and annual leave. However, all the subsidies will remain unchanged.

In the 3’rd phase, Henry Rotich, the National treasury cabinet secretary, stated that at otal of 3 billion Kenyan shillings have been allocated to cater for new recruitment, recurrent expenditure as well as the implementation of this 3rd CBA phase. Below is the TSC salaries scale per various job groups


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button